You are here

Daryn Berlin

 
Daryn Berlin
New Market Development
Durham
919.824.2819

Marathon man Daryn Berlin is powered by coffee and doughnuts, both of which helped him blast through the finish line at the 2012 Tobacco Road Marathon. Currently a member of the sales and development team, Daryn was actually Counter Culture’s very first employee, and, since being hired in 1995, he has roasted, delivered, packaged, brewed, and competed with Counter Culture Coffee – the latter achievement has twice earned him spots in the semifinals of the US Barista Championships. He’s also the proud grower of Finca Nueva Berlin, his own living-room coffee farm.

He lives with his wife and their two children (and their dog, cat, and guinea pig) in Durham, NC, and he will always gladly race you for sweets.



Asheville -  Layne Hutchison -  Wholesale Technical Services -  lhutchison@counterculturecoffee.com
Atlanta -  Ben Helfen -  Wholesale Technical Services -  bhelfen@counterculturecoffee.com
Atlanta -  Dustin Mattson -  Wholesale Customer Support -  dmattson@counterculturecoffee.com
Atlanta - , Charleston - , New York -  Park Brannen -  Regional Wholesale Sales -  pbrannen@counterculturecoffee.com
Atlanta -  Emily Davis -  Counter Intelligence Manager -  edavis@counterculturecoffee.com
Boston -  Ellen Blanchette -  Regional Wholesale Sales -  eblanchette@counterculturecoffee.com
Boston -  Matthew Souza -  Wholesale Customer Support -  msouza@counterculturecoffee.com
Boston -  Corey Goldsmith -  Wholesale Technical Services -  cgoldsmith@counterculturecoffee.com
Chicago -  Marty Sweeney -  Wholesale Customer Support -  msweeney@counterculturecoffee.com
Chicago -  Rich Futrell -  Regional Wholesale Sales -  rfutrell@counterculturecoffee.com
Related Updates:
Thirty-six coffee professionals from around the country participated in the United States Barista Championships in Atlanta last weekend (April 14–17), a competition presented by the Specialty Coffee Association of America and the Barista Guild of America. Lemuel Butler, Counter Culture Coffee...
We were first introduced to the Durham Living Wage Project back in May during our 2015 Sustainable Spring event series. Our support team was asked to find businesses or organizations in their communities doing inspiring work in sustainability and invite them to speak at our training centers. Our...
In the last post, I talked about why I think reporting is so important and what we have planned for the future of our own reporting. As I dived into planning for the upcoming 2014 Transparency Report with our coffee and marketing teams this week, I was asked a really important question by both...
Expanding on the theme from my last post, I'd like to keep exploring the movement away from thinking about sustainability in coffee as a checklist of certifications and more as a process of movement along a continuum of continuous improvement. One aspect that's really appealing about the...
Congratulations to Woodberry Kitchen's Spike Gjerde for his 2015 James Beard Foundation Award for Best Chef: Mid-Atlantic! We work with some of the best restaurants in the country—restaurants run by folks who understand and appreciate the importance of quality coffee as an integral...